Will they know if I disconnect or remove a Fire & Security connection on LinkedIn? This is the #1 question that I get asked when I train Fire & Security professionals to use the LinkedIn platform.
I get it! You connected with that engineer from another company when you were just starting out on LinkedIn. There was some great banter and sharing of bad work by other installers. But, since then, you’ve got wiser!
The day it really sank in was after you posted an update about a new maintenance contract that you had won with a really good local commercial outlet. A year later, the contract was up for renewal. But you didn’t get the job.
Later, you found out that the company of your LinkedIn connection was the successful supplier.
It’s time to cut the ties!
Yes, you can disconnect from someone on LinkedIn. This process is achieved simply via the remove a connection button.
Go to the profile of the LinkedIn connection you want to disconnect from. Find and click the MORE button. Remove Connection is near the bottom of the list of options.
How connections might know you have disconnected or removed the connection
By visiting this person’s profile, they will get a notification that you have viewed their profile. And this notification clearly displays that you are now a 2nd level connection, not a 1st level. This is an obvious give-away that you have gone to their page and disconnected from them.
How to remove a connection on LinkedIn without them knowing
Click on the My Network tab in the top dashboard.
On the left, you will see the number of your connections and underneath that a link to See all. Click that.
You will now see a list of your connections in the order that they were added starting with the most recent.
At the top right, there is a search bar which asks you to Search connections
Add in the name of the connection you want to remove. Click Enter and you will see a dropdown of connections with that name.
Find the connection you want to remove and click on the three horizontal dots to the right of the Message box.
Now click the option to Remove Connection.
You will be asked if you are sure and given a list of functionality that you will lose by removing this connection. Bear in mind that you will lose your notifications from this connection and the ability to send messages or receive updates. You will also lose any endorsements or recommendations that may have been exchanged between the two of you.
Will my connection know that I have removed him/her from my LinkedIn Contacts list?
LinkedIn assure us that connections will not be notified that they’ve been removed from your connections list. However, they do remind us that only the member who breaks the connection can reinstate that connection.
People who have been disconnected will be added to your list of contacts in case you want to reinvite them later.