Speak to Lollipop
Menu
Speak to Lollipop
Get More Clients

Deactivating or Deleting a Facebook Account

by Jo Shaer, on August 23, 2011

"You can delete your Facebook Account but, providing you go back into it again before two weeks have elapsed, you can re-open it again. That's what all the teenagers do!"

I was a bit bemused by this particular piece of information and I am still not totally sure why anyone would want to keep deleting and then resurrecting the same account on a regular basis, although I am informed that this might be to do with not having to be friends with people who have requested an add... Or because they're going away for a while and won't be able to check up on what's been posted on their wall.

Researching the process for a client who had set up a personal page rather than a business page, I discovered that there are actually two options - deactivation or deletion.

Before deleting a Facebook account, here are a few things that you should consider. Thinking about the apps that you have is very important.

Deactivation is where your profile and associated information disappear immediately from the Facebook service and no one will be able to search for you or view any of your information but that Facebook saves the info, just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point.

To do this, you go into the Account drop down and select Account Settings. Then in the menu on the far left, select Security. This will then take you to another page where you can see the 'Deactivate your account' option at the bottom.

deactivate-facebook-account

Click on this link if you want to get to the page that allows you to ask Facebook to delete your account permanently.

delete-facebook-account

However, if a user passes away, their relatives may not want to permanently delete the account and there is a third option called Memorializing. This prevents anyone from logging into the account and sets the account privacy so that only confirmed friends can see the profile or locate it in search, leaving the wall so that friends and family can leave posts in remembrance.

Click the link if you need to report a deceased person's profile.

report-a-deceased-persons-profile-on-facebook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you wish to use Facebook for business, you'll need an active account because you need to sign into a personal account to create and manage your business page. 

If you want to dive deeper into Facebook for business, click the image below for more info on our tailored training courses.

New Call-to-action

 

 

 

 

 

Topics:Facebooksocial mediadelete facebook account

Social Media Blog

Lollipop loves Social Media. Our blog shows you how to promote your business and convert your website visitors into leads and paying customers. Take a look!

More...

Subscribe to Updates