Will They Know If I Disconnect Or Remove A Connection On LinkedIn?
by Jo Shaer, on August 7, 2017
Will they know if I disconnect or remove a connection on LinkedIn? When I first began on LinkedIn, I accepted some invitations from people that I did not know, who came from outside the UK.
Jo Curtis, Women In Business Networking Events in Essex
Another question from a LinkedIn training course. Yes, you can disconnect from someone on LinkedIn. This process is achieved via the remove a connection button.
- Accepted a connection with a business on LinkedIn or
- from someone that you don't actually know, or
- from someone you just don't want to be associated with any more?
Go to their profile and click the three dots at the top right of the page. Then select Remove Connection from the drop down menu.
It will then tell you that you are No longer connected.
How connections might know you have disconnected or removed the connection
However, by doing this, they will get a notification that you have viewed their profile and this notification clearly displays that they are now a 2nd level connection, not a 1st level. This is an obvious give-away that you have gone to their page and disconnected from them.
How to remove a connection on LinkedIn without them knowing
Click on the My Network tab in the top dashboard.
On the left, you will see the number of your connections and underneath that a link to See all. Click that.
You will now see a list of your connections in the order that they were added starting with the most recent.
At the top right, there is a search bar which asks you to Search connections
Add in the name of the connection you want to remove. Click Enter and you will see a dropdown of connections with that name.
Find the connection you want to remove and click on the three horizontal dots to the right of the Message box.
Now click the option to Remove Connection.
You will be asked if you are sure and given a list of functionality that you will lose by removing this connection. Bear in mind that you will lose your notifications from this connection and the ability to send messages or receive updates. You will also lose any endorsements or recommendations that may have been exchanged between the two of you.
Will my connection know that I have removed him/her from my LinkedIn Contacts list?
LinkedIn assure us that connections will not be notified that they've been removed from your connections list. However, they do remind us that only the member who breaks the connection can reinstate that connection.
People who have been disconnected will be added to your list of contacts in case you want to reinvite them later.